My Plans for New York ComicCon / New York Anime Festival 2010

I am excited to officially announce here on the blog that I will be attending New York ComicCon/New York Anime Festival 2010! I will be running around the convention center seeing all that I can see to cover it for the blog, so I thought I would list some of the panels that I plan on attending.

If you happen to attend the same panel or see me at all during the con, feel free to come up and say hi! I’m always up for meeting fellow fans and bloggers!

*ALL INFORMATION IS SUBJECT TO CHANGE, please check the official website and schedules for the most accurate information!*

FRIDAY, OCTOBER 8TH

1:30 – 2:00pm Variant Stage, Opening Ceremonies – I couldn’t properly cover this con without attending the opening ceremonies!!

2:15 – 3:15pm Room 1A15, Writing Action Packed and Character Driven Stories – I am always up for more tips and tricks on writing great stories!

4:15 – 5:15pm Variant Stage, Anime Clue – A Clue mystery, anime style? I am THERE!

5:45 – 6:45 Room 1E13, Aniplex – I am excited to see what new stuff Aniplex has in store!

6:45 – 7:45pm IGN Theater, Robot Chicken – I am a HUGE fan of Robot Chicken, and with Seth Green himself there, I really don’t want to miss this!

7:30 to 8:30pm Room 1A15, Fantasy Writers Panel – I couldn’t very well pass up this panel! Fantasy writing, for those that don’t know, is my life’s dream, so I am very excited for this one!

Yes, I am aware the above panels run into each other a bit. I will most likely either leave the Robot Chicken panel early, or just be late for the Fantasy Writers panel.

8:30 – 9:30pm Room 1E14, DramaFever presents Asian Entertainment Trends in American Pop Culture – This is always an interesting topic to me! I look forward to being a part of a discussion on how Asian media influences American culture.

SATURDAY, OCTOBER 9TH

11:00 – 12:00pm Room 1E13, Bandai Industry Panel – No explanation needed!!

12:15 – 1:15pm Room 1E13, FUNimation Industry Panel – No explanation needed here, either! I hope to see ALL of you here!!!

1:15 – 2:15pm Room 1E12, Disorganization XIII’s Spoiler The Panel 4 – You CANNOT miss DOXIII’s panels, especially their Spoiler: The Panel, which is an hour long party of hilarious spoilers and antics! (Go check out their website!)

2:30 – 3:30pm Variant Stage, Uncle Yo – Uncle Yo is a hilarious otaku comedian and a lovely acquaintance of mine! I run into him at just about every convention and he tried to take me home as his prize at Out-Of-Time Productions’ The List: The Panel at Castle Point Anime Convention earlier this year! You can check out his website here!

7:45 – 8:45pm Room 1E13, The Best (And Worst) Games From Japan That You’ve Never Heard Of – As a gamer, this greatly interests me! I am pumped!!

SUNDAY, OCTOBER 10TH

11:00 – 12:00pm Room 1E13, Castles, Forests and Bath Houses: The Worlds of Hayao Miyazaki – I am a huge fan of Hayao Miyazaki; Spirited Away and Howl’s Moving Castle are two of my favorite movies of all time!

I have a potential issue here: it was just confirmed that the cast of The Vampire Diaries is going to be at NYCC around this time! I’d have to miss half of the Miyazaki panel, but I have a long-standing love affair with the Vampire Diaries books and cast members, and I will gladly miss this panel to have a chance to meet them, if possible. The real issue is that many of the NYCC guests are charging major money to even get a chance to meet them, and with the popularity of vampires nowadays, it will probably be next to impossible to get a chance to meet these fine actors, even if these vampires DON’T sparkle like a bunch of fairies. I’ll have to play this by ear!

12:00 – 1:30pm Room 1E12, Anime Press Your Luck – Another great panel run by the wonderful people at Disorganization XIII! You gotta check it out!

There are the panels that I am 99% sure I will be attending, however that can change. Drop me a line if you’re going to be at any of these panels, and remember, don’t be afraid to say hi if you see me! In fact, I decided to film a video talking about some of my plans for NYAF/NYCC, as well as showing off what I’ll be wearing so you can recognize me. I also decided to unveil the very first Chu★Blog business cards!

I hope to see you all there!

Leave a Reply

