A Tighter Focus for Chu★Blog

Many of you that follow me on Twitter know that I have had the occasional struggle with deciding what the true focus of Chu★Blog is. I’ve always believed that it was whatever I wanted it to be, and while it was fun while it lasted, in made the blog feel rather scattered to me. There were so many things going on here at once that I found myself unable to keep up with it all.

Then, NYAF and NYCC happened. Being at the convention, in the midst of all these industry people and meeting, talking, networking, asking questions, and simply basking in everything around me was intoxicating and captivating. I can’t remember the last time I did something that left me so full of joy and so satisfied. I was truly and unequivocally happy working my ass off this weekend.

When I woke up yesterday morning, I reached a decision. From now on, you will see Chu★Blog focused more towards its original purpose: entertaining reviews, editorials, and podcasts on anime, manga, gaming, science fiction, and fantasy. To facilitate this, I did a little bit of clean-up this morning:

  • The L.J. Smith book reviews were taken down, and no more book reviews will be posted unless they have to do with the subject matter listed above. The links to these defunct reviews will be taken off of the YouTube account soon.
  • The review of “The Path” has been cancelled and taken down. This turned out to be more of a walkthrough than a review, which was not my intention, and with the plethora of things I have in store for this blog, there was simply no time to continue this.

I will be making lots of changes around the blog, many of which I am more than happy to share with you:

  • There will be a much larger focus on reviews. I have a review of an exciting product coming up, as well as an anime review for Halloween. There are other planned reviews, but they will remain a secret until the time comes.
  • I will be changing all of the astricks to stars for Chu★Blog, since it looks cooler and is more uniform (it look unprofessional when I interchange both of them).
  • The Chu★Blog Store will be getting a re-vamp sometime soon, although I’m not quite sure how I am going to go about this yet.
  • I am looking into a few other ways for Chu★Blog to generate some money besides the store so that I can use it to get my hands on more material to review (any suggestions on this are always welcome).

I have a few other things in the works for the blog as well, but I can’t / don’t want to discuss them until I am sure they will be happening. All I can say is that you should stay tuned for some exciting new stuff!

I also want to take this opportunity to thank all of my readers. You guys are what make this blog possible, and things wouldn’t be as good as they are around here without your love, support, and ideas. You guys rock!

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Lauren said,

    I definitely support this refocusing! When we post things so frequently, sometimes we lose sight of the big picture. It’s great that you took the time to reassess things.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

