The Most Wonderful Time of the Year – E3!

It’s that time of the year again!

The Electronic Entertainment Expo is just around the corner! From June 6th-9th, the biggest names in gaming will be at E3, showing the gaming world what they have to offer. I always get so, so excited when E3 comes along, moreso than most others, I think. This caused me to pause and think about what it is that really excites me so much about E3.

I think part of it is a bit of nostalgia. The 6 1/2 months that I was out of work was the hardest time of my entire life. I felt depressed, stressed, and a billion other things. However, it did afford me a great deal of free time. So, when E3 2009 came along, I saw it as a distraction. I’d never watched or kept up on E3 coverage before, but I became enthralled with it, so much so that I brought the idea up to Ernie of Out-Of-Time Productions that we should do an E3 special. He liked the idea, and we’ve been doing them ever since. Having to do the research for these specials got me deeper and deeper into the video game industry, and I became crazy about it.

So, whenever E3 rolls around, I think of 2009. I think of how great it was to have something positive to concentrate on, how much fun it was to film our E3 special, and how enthralled I became with the video game industry. It is, of course, a different experience for me now that I have a full-time job. I can’t watch the coverage in real-time, so I have to wait until I come home from work and for a website to upload the panels and information. This makes the nights during E3 incredibly hectic, but nonetheless fun. I love E3, and no matter what goes on at the expo, just being in the midst of it makes me feel energized and excited.

And if you’re wondering, yes, OOTP will be doing an E3 special this year. Stay tuned here, I’ll post our podcast special for this year here, as well as a post on my own personal thoughts on E3.

Also, if you’re curious about our previous E3 specials, you can always check them out on our YouTube channel here.

Addendum 6/1/11 – Here is a list of when each company’s conference will be taking place:

June 6th, 2011

  • Microsoft Press Conference – 9:30am PST (12:30pm EST)
  • EA Press Conference – 12:30pm PST (3:30pm EST)
  • Ubisoft Press Conference – 2:30pm PST (5:30pm EST)
  • Sony Press Conference – 5:00pm PST (8:00pm EST)

June 7th, 2011

  • Nintendo Press Conference – 9:00am PST (12:00pm EST)

In case you’re wondering, most of these conferences will last anywhere from an hour to two hours. However, Sony has announced that their conference will be five hours long. Rumor has it that those five hours will comprise of a standard conference followed by a ‘special event’. Being that it starts at 8:00pm my time, I can tell you that I’m so looking forward to staying up until 1:00am listening to Sony apologize for getting hacked, and then waking up a few hours later for work. Should be a blast.

If you want to watch the action live yourself, or just keep yourself up-to-date on the latest news coming out of E3, check out these sites that are constantly streaming the conferences and updating with the latest news, interviews, and more:

Feel free to leave comments and tell me what you’re most looking forward to seeing, or hope to see, at this year’s expo. Hope you all enjoy E3!

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: